Review: Jamie Foxx: Hollywood: A Story of a Dozen Roses (Deluxe Version)

It's been a few years since Foxx has cut a CD.  With all that he keeps on his plate, we're lucky to have Hollywood.  This LP has 15 original tracks and is star-laden with the likes of Chris Brown, Fabolous, Kid Ink, Nicki Minaj, Pharrell,  Popcaan, Wale and Young Thug. 

The only song that grabbed us was the very last one, "Ain't My Fault."  It's engaging and logical, with a hint of musical whimsy towards the very end.  It's almost as though Foxx knows that he should take responsibility for how he feels for this girl, who knows how to dress and what drives men wild. 

It's is profane, though.  You don't want to hear your young children singing this song.  The entire project is an artistic rendering, start to finish and we rarely enjoy every single song.  This time, it was just this one.

1.  Dozen Roses, Pt. 1
2.  You Changed Me
3.  Like a Drum
4.  Another Dose
5.  Tease
6.  Baby's in Love
7.  Text Message
8.  Hollywood
9.  Vegas Confessions
10. Socialite
11. Dozen Roses, Pt. 2
12. In Love by Now
13. Jumping out the Window
14. On the Dot
15. Dozen Roses, Pt. 3
16. Right Now
17. Pretty Thing
18. Ain't My Fault

 Vital LinksFacebook Instagram Twitter Web YouTube

Released: May 18, 2015
Company: RCA Records


No comments

Back to Top